top of page
  • Foto del escritorDaniel Calderón

Justin Timberlake apologized to Britney Spears and Janet Jackson

The musician has generated controversy after the premiere of the documentary Framing Britney Spears.



The documentary Framing Britney Spears, recently released, made visible certain behaviors in the way we approach the career and personal life of Britney Spears. One of those who did not look very well with the film was Justin Timberlake, Britney's ex-partner who, according to the documentary, made fun of the singer repeatedly and victimized himself about their relationship to benefit his career.



On February 12, Justin posted a public apology on his Instagram account. "Specifically, I want to apologize to Janet Jackson and Britney Spears, because I love and respect both women and I know that I failed. I am very sorry for the times in my life when my actions contributed to the problem, when I spoke when it was not my turn or when I did not. I spoke for what was correct. I understand that I failed in certain moments and in many others and I benefited from a system that forgives machismo and racism", said the musician.





For several years now, Timberlake has been criticized for not taking any blame for the controversial 2004 SuperBowl show in which he (allegedly) accidentally exposed one of Janet Jackson's nipples. While she was banned from the Grammys and the entire entertainment industry for a long time thanks to this "incident," Justin's career remained intact after the scandal and she never apologized, something Jackson did have to do repeatedly.


“I feel obliged to respond because everyone involved deserves much more, and, more importantly, because this is a conversation that I want to be part of and that I want to grow from (...) I know that this apology is a first step and it does not erase the past. I want to take responsibility for my mistakes and be part of a world that exalts and supports" added the musician.

Comments


bottom of page